top of page
COMPENSATION CLAIMS

Compensation claims are measures used by the Swiss justice system to ensure that the fruits of corruption do not benefit the convicted company. They are therefore set according to the profits made by the company as a result of the corruption. In the case of Gunvor, this amounted to CHF 90 million. This sum was paid to the Swiss Confederation.

Swiss law provides for the sharing of compensation claims with the country where the corruption took place only if there was judicial cooperation between the two countries. In the Gunvor case, the presidential family of Sassou NGuesso is directly involved in the corruption case, according to the judgment of the Federal Criminal Court of 28 August 2018, so the Confederation kept the CHF 90 million.

However, it seems unfair that thes compensation claims ultimately benefit Switzerland. The victims of these corruption cases are the population of the countries where these companies engaged in corrupting practices and these victims should be able to ultimately benefit from these "ill-gotten gains". In the case of Gunvor, this is the Republic of Congo and the Ivory Coast. The money should therefore be redistributed to their inhabitants through projects of development, promotion of human rights or fight against corruption, via local or Swiss civil society organisations, or via the Swiss development agency.

In addition to the CHF 90 million from the Gunvor case, Switzerland has benefited from several tens of millions of francs from other corruption cases.

Parliamentary initiative

National Council member Christian Dandrès asked a parliamentary question in the June 2022 session in order for the CHF 90 million in compensation claims paid by Gunvor be redistributed to the people of Congo Brazzaville and Côte d'Ivoire. The Federal Council declined:

https://www.parlament.ch/fr/ratsbetrieb/suche-curia-vista/geschaeft?AffairId=20221041

Mr Dandrès then tabled a parliamentary initiative in the September 2022 session asking that the Gunvor case not be repeated and that the "ill-gotten gains" be redistributed to the wronged populations:

https://www.parlament.ch/fr/ratsbetrieb/suche-curia-vista/geschaeft?AffairId=20220467

Article from newspaper Le Courrier on those initiatives :

Gunvor : la Suisse garde le magot

6 October 2022

Letter to the Federal Council and parliamentary petition

31 Swiss associations have signed a letter to the Federal Council demanding that "a significant part of the CHF 90 million in compensation paid by Gunvor be allocated to development, human rights and anti-corruption projects in the Republic of Congo and Côte d'Ivoire".

Signatories:

Action de Carême ; Alliance Sud ; Attac ; Bergbau Menschen Rechte ; Botteghe Del Mondo ; Brücke Le Pont ; Bruno manser fonds ; Campax ; CCPR Center ; CETIM ; Connexio develop ; E-changer ; FIAN ; Frauen für den Frieden Schweiz ; Groupe de Travail Suisse Colombie ask ; Helvetas ; Humanrights.ch ; Juristes progressistes Genève ; Magasins du Monde ; Mission Évangélique Braille ; Mouvement pour la coopération internationale ; Neno ; PeaceWomen Across the Globe ; Public Eye ; Société pour les peuples menacés ; Solidar Suisse ; Solifonds ; SWISSAID ; Terre des Hommes Schweiz ; Travail.Suisse ; Unité.

This letter was also tabled as a parliamentary petition which was rejected.

Screening and debate

 The Geneva Academy of International Humanitarian Law and Human Rights organised a screening of the movie, followed by a debate: 

 

Business and corruption: how to redistribute ill-gotten gains?

Maison de la Paix, Geneva

29 November 2022


Participants:

Agathe Duparc, Investigator, Public Eye  

Brice Mackosso, Coordinator, Commission Justice et Paix

Yves Bertossa, First Prosecutor, Ministère Public de Genève   

​Christian Dandrès, National Council member and lawyer 

Sara Brimbeuf, Advocacy Officer for grand corruption and illicit financial flows, Transparency International

TRANSPARENCY OF PAYMENTS

Transparency of payments is a key element in the fight against corruption. It involves trading companies declaring the amounts they pay to foreign officials to buy oil. The Extractive Industries Transparency Initiative has developed guidelines suggesting the level of detail and granularity of these disclosures.

In 2021, Switzerland amended its code of obligations regarding public limited companies and included an article on this topic:
Companies [...] involved in the extraction of minerals, oil or natural gas or in the harvesting of timber in primary forests must produce a report each year on the payments they have made to state bodies. (Art. 964d of the Swiss Civil Code)

 

 

 

However, this article only applies to companies in the extractive industry and not to trading companies. According to the Swiss NGO Public Eye, there are 4 extractive companies in Switzerland and 400 trading companies.

The article contains a provision that would extend the scope of the law to trading companies:
The Federal Council may stipulate as part of an internationally coordinated procedure that that the obligations in Articles 964a–964e shall also apply to companies trading in raw materials. (Art. 964i).

The decision is now in the hands of the Federal Council.

Round table

The Bern Political Forum, together with les Productions du Noyer, held a discussion on Thursday 18 November 2021 on the following theme:

What are the advantages of transparency rules in raw material trading ?

 

Participants:

Lisa Mazzone, Member of Conseil des États, Green party - protagonist of the film

Marc Ummel, SwissAid - protagonist of the film

Adrià Budry Carbó, Public Eye

The round table was moderated by journalist Lise Bailat

The recording of the discussion is available here.

bottom of page

top of page
CRÉANCES COMPENSATRICES

Les créances compensatrices sont des mesures utilisées par la justice suisse afin que le fruit de la corruption ne bénéficie pas à l'entreprise condamnée. Elles sont donc fixées selon les profits réalisés par l'entreprise grâce à la corruption. Dans le cas de Gunvor, il s'agit de CHF 90 millions. Cette somme a été payée à la Confédération helvétique.

La loi suisse ne prévoit un partage des créances compensatrices avec le pays où la corruption a eu lieu seulement s'il y a eu une entraide judiciaire entre les deux pays. Dans l'affaire Gunvor, la famille présidentielle des Sassou NGuesso est directement impliquée dans l’affaire de corruption, selon le jugement du Tribunal Pénal Fédéral du 28 août 2018, donc la Confédération a gardé les CHF 90 millions.

Or, il apparaît injuste que ces sommes bénéficient au final à la Suisse. Les victimes de ces affaires de corruption sont les populations des pays où ces entreprises se sont adonnées à la corruption et ces victimes devraient pouvoir au final bénéficier de ces "profits mal-acquis". Dans le cas de Gunvor, il s'agit de la République du Congo et de la Côte d'Ivoire. L'argent devrait donc être redistribué à leurs habitants à travers des projets de développement, de promotion des droits humains ou de lutte contre la corruption, via des organisations de la société civile locales, ou suisses, ou encore via la coopération suisse.

En plus des CHF 90 millions du cas Gunvor, la Suisse a ainsi bénéficié de plusieurs dizaines de millions de francs d'autres affaires de corruption.

Initiative parlementaire

Le Conseiller national Christian Dandrès a posé une question parlementaire lors de la session de juin 2022 demandant à ce que les CHF 90 millions de créances compensatrices payés par Gunvor soit redistribués aux populations du Congo Brazzaville et de la Côte d'Ivoire. Le Conseil fédéral a répondu par la négative :

https://www.parlament.ch/fr/ratsbetrieb/suche-curia-vista/geschaeft?AffairId=20221041

M. Dandrès a ensuite déposé une initative parlementaire lors de la session de septembre 2022 demandant à ce que le cas Gunvor ne se reproduise plus et que les "profits mal acquis" soient redistribués aux populations lésées :

https://www.parlament.ch/fr/ratsbetrieb/suche-curia-vista/geschaeft?AffairId=20220467

Article du Courrier sur ces démarches :

Gunvor : la Suisse garde le magot

6 octobre 2022

Lettre au Conseil fédéral et pétition parlementaire

31 associations suisses ont signé une lettre adressée au Conseil fédéral demandant à ce "qu’une part significative des CHF 90 millions de créances compensatrices payées par l'entreprise Gunvor soit attribuée à des projets de développement, droits humains et lutte contre la corruption en République du Congo et en Côte d’Ivoire."

Signataires :

Action de Carême ; Alliance Sud ; Attac ; Bergbau Menschen Rechte ; Botteghe Del Mondo ; Brücke Le Pont ; Bruno manser fonds ; Campax ; CCPR Center ; CETIM ; Connexio develop ; E-changer ; FIAN ; Frauen für den Frieden Schweiz ; Groupe de Travail Suisse Colombie ask ; Helvetas ; Humanrights.ch ; Juristes progressistes Genève ; Magasins du Monde ; Mission Évangélique Braille ; Mouvement pour la coopération internationale ; Neno ; PeaceWomen Across the Globe ; Public Eye ; Société pour les peuples menacés ; Solidar Suisse ; Solifonds ; SWISSAID ; Terre des Hommes Schweiz ; Travail.Suisse ; Unité.

Cette lettre a également été déposée comme pétition parlementaire. La Commission de Politique Extérieure du Conseil des États a rejeté notre demande par 7 voix contre 4.

Projection - débat

 L'Académie de Genève de droit international humanitaire et de droits humains a organisé une projection, suivie d'un débat autour du film : 

 

Entreprises et corruption : comment redistribuer les profits mal acquis ? 

Maison de la Paix, Genève

29 novembre 2022


Intervenants :

Agathe Duparc, Enquêtrice, Public Eye et auteure de l’enquête de Public Eye sur l’entreprise Gunvor   

Brice Mackosso, Coordinateur de la Commission Justice et Paix

Yves Bertossa, Premier procureur, Ministère Public de Genève   

​Christian Dandrès, Conseiller national et avocat 

Sara Brimbeuf, Responsable du plaidoyer grande corruption et flux financiers illicites, Transparency International

TRANSPARENCE DES PAIEMENTS

La transparence des paiements est un élément clé de la lutte contre la corruption. Il s'agit pour les entreprises de négoce de déclarer les montants qu'elles versent aux agents publics étrangers pour acheter du pétrole. L'Initiative pour la Transparence dans les Industries Extractives a développé des directives suggérant les niveau de détail et de granularité de ces divulgations.

En 2021, la Suisse a modifié son droit des obligations concernant les sociétés anonymes et a inclus un article sur cette thématique :

Les entreprises [...] actives dans la production de minerais, de pétrole ou de gaz naturel ou dans l’exploitation de forêts primaires, doivent établir chaque année un rapport sur les paiements effectués au profit de gouvernements. (art. 964d du code civil)

 

Cependant, cet article ne s'applique qu'aux entreprises de l'industrie extractive et non aux entreprises de négoce. Or, selon l'ONG suisse Public Eye, il y a en Suisse 4 sociétés extractives contre 400 sociétés de négoce.

 

L'article contient une disposition qui permettrait d'étendre la portée de la loi aux sociétés de négoce :
Le Conseil fédéral peut prescrire, dans le cadre d'une procédure coordonnée au niveau international que les obligations des articles 964a-964e s'appliquent également aux sociétés de négoce de matières premières. (art. 964i).

 

La décision est désormais entre les mains du Conseil fédéral.

Table ronde

Le Forum Politique de Berne a organisé une table ronde sur la thématique de la transparence des paiements, précédée de la projection d'extraits de notre film : 

 

Quels sont les avantages des règles de transparence dans le secteur des matières premières ?

Käfigturm, Polit-forum, Bern

18 novembre 2021

Intervenants :

Lisa Mazzone, Membre du Conseil des États, Les Verts - intervenante dans le film

Marc Ummel, SwissAid - intervenant dans le film

Adrià Budry Carbó, Public Eye

Modération : Lise Bailat, journaliste Tamedia

L'enregistrement de la discussion est disponible ici.

bottom of page